Celebrating over 200 Years of Service to God 

Established in 1821, Mossy Creek United Methodist Church was one of the first churches in White County, and both the Mossy Creek community and church have a rich history. Beginning with Mossy Creek Meeting House, which was established in 1821, the first building was constructed of hewn logs and built on the property of Mr. Clement Quillian about 4 miles southeast of what is now Cleveland, Georgia. It was situated to the southwest of the present church. On October 31, 1825, a deed was made by Clement Quillian to the Trustees of Mossy Creek Meeting House and their successors in office. The property, comprised of an estimated eleven acres, included the Methodist Meeting House, called Mossy Creek Meeting House, together with the spring and burying ground. The deed was contingent on the property continuing as a house of worship for the use of the members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. The old log church remained in use by Mossy Creek until the late 1870s when a new frame church, situated southwest of the current church, was completed. The congregation moved into the new facility in 1878 under the leadership of pastor J. R. Pate.

In the early days of churches in America, it was common for churches to play a role in organizing schools, and Mossy Creek was no exception. On Feb. 11, 1889, Mossy Creek Academy was opened under the leadership of Prof. A. F. Johnson. The school began with 47 students, but quickly grew to 128 by the end of the first term. The school operated for 30 years and became known as the Mossy Creek High School. Ultimately, it offered departments of Business, English Grammar, Geography, Orthography, Vocal and Instrumental Music, a Literary and Debating Society, and a Teacher's department.

In 1961, during the pastorate of Rev. James M.Dale who served from 1961-62, Mossy Creek built its red brick parsonage on ground deeded to the church trustees by Mrs. Albert Dorsey. The parsonage was situated adjacent and to the south of the current church building. It was officially dedicate on May 16, 1965 by Bishop John Owen Smith.

Although the name of the first pastor is unknown, records show that Reverend Nathaniel Rhodes was pastor in 1826, and in 1949, the pastor was Reverend William Jasper Cotter. At least three former preachers are buried at Mossy Creek: Reverend George Phillips (1753-1839), Reverend Wiley Warwick (1771-1856), and Reverend F. A. Quillian (1824-1864). It is believed that these men  preached at Mossy Creek. More recently, former pastor Rick Arnold (1952-1984) was buried in Mossy Creek cemetery. Reverend Ralph E. Harris compiled of all pastors who have served at Mossy Creek since 1860. In the hundred years from 1868 to 1968, Mossy Creek had 67 pastors.

For many years, the Cleveland charge consisted of: Cleveland, Zion, Nacoochee, Mossy Creek, Chattahoochee, Loudsville, and Mt. Pleasant churches. When Cleveland became a stand-alone charge in 1953, the Mossy Creek-Trinity Charge was created, consisting of Mossy Creek, Trinity, and two Bethel churches. Trinity and Bethel left the charge in 1961 and 1968, respectively, leaving Mossy Creek as a one church charge. It remains a vibrant and growing member of the White County community to this day. 

* Special thanks to our church historian, Mrs. Nella Keene for providing the above information

**** We Would like to have a copy of a picture of the old church building. If any one has one, please notify a member or our pastor.